Drivers Education Teachers

Name Email Phone Ext. Room Number
Corey Groll corey.groll@cape.k12.de.us 267246 B112
Jay Conn john.conn@cape.k12.de.us 267223 B112
Joseph DeGregory josephv.degregory@cape.k12.de.us 267367 B112
Mike Tkach michael.tkach@cape.k12.de.us 267300 B112
Shannon Timmons (Department Chair) shannon.timmons@cape.k12.de.us 267298 B112

Drivers Education Course

  • Prerequisite: This is the ONLY course for students in a 10th-grade homeroom. 

    Delaware law requires that anyone under the age of 18 must successfully complete a state-approved driver’s education course in order to obtain a Delaware Graduated Driver License. This course will be offered during the student’s sophomore year and is taught for one nine-week marking period. The course is offered free – one time only! Students who qualify for driver’s education will be scheduled by marking period according to their birth date. The 44-hour driver’s education course consists of a minimum of 30 required hours of in-class training and a minimum of 7 hours required of in-car training (driving and observation hours). Student attendance is mandatory in order to meet state requirements.

    The purpose of driver’s education and traffic safety is to provide students with the knowledge, attitudes, and competencies needed to become safe, responsible members of the highway transportation system. The in-class phase of driver’s education introduces students to the Highway Transportation System and the driving task. The in-car phase of driver’s education prepares students to practice basic driving skills and experience a variety of driving environments and traffic situations. To achieve these goals, the driver’s education program is based on an analysis of the mental, physical, and social skills a student must perform when operating a motor vehicle. After the successful completion of this course, students will be prepared to enter the Delaware Graduated Driver License Program. Students will automatically be enrolled in Academic Enrichment for the marking period immediately following Driver’s Education.