World Language Overview

  • The World Language Program offers students the opportunity to become proficient in reading, writing, listening, and speaking in three languages; French, Italian, and Spanish. Students engage in meaningful and authentic activities while immersed in the target language. History, literature, and cultural contributions are also a part of these courses. Students not only gain proficiency but also become global citizens who understand and appreciate diverse cultures. Two successful years of the same language are required for graduation in the state of Delaware. Most colleges and universities recommend three successful years of the same language for entry; however, four successful years of the same language are preferred.

World Language Teachers

Name Email Phone Ext. Room Number
Amy Howard, Spanish amy.howard@cape.k12.de.us 267251 B203
Carolyn Sweeney, Spanish (Department Chair) carolyn.sweeney@cape.k12.de.us 267296 B201
Cristina Christy, Italian cristina.christy@cape.k12.de.us 267221 B202
Estefania Becker, Spanish estefania.becker@cape.k12.de.us 267207 J206
Gregory Berman, Spanish gregory.berman@cape.k12.de.us 267208 J207
Holly Criswell, French holly.criswell@cape.k12.de.us 267227 E211
Julie Boyd, Spanish julie.boyd@cape.k12.de.us 267351 J114
Robert Cecil, Spanish robert.cecil@cape.k12.de.us 267218 B200

World Language Courses

  • Level I: Spanish, French, or Italian

  • Level II: Spanish, French, or Italian

  • Level III: Spanish, French, or Italian

  • Level IV: Spanish 4, French 4, or Italian 4

  • AP Spanish Language & Culture